The last major awards show to take place before the Oscars have come and gone. Last night the 2011 Independent Spirit Awards were held and hosted by comedian and actor Joel McHale. Big winners at this year’s show include Black Swan, 127 Hours, and Winter’s Bone. To find out who won what, check out the complete winner’s list below…

BEST FEATURE (Award given to the Producer, Executive Producers are not listed)

  • 127 Hours
  • Black Swan – WINNER
  • Greenberg
  • The Kids Are All Right
  • Winter’s Bone


  • Darren Aronofsky (Black Swan) – WINNER
  • Danny Boyle (127 Hours)
  • Lisa Cholodenko (The Kids Are All Right)
  • Debra Granik (Winter’s Bone)
  • John Cameron Mitchell (Rabbit Hole)


  • Stuart Blumberg and Lisa Cholodenko (The Kids Are All Right) – WINNER
  • Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini (Winter’s Bone)
  • Nicole Holofcener (Please Give)
  • David Lindsay-Abaire (Rabbit Hole)
  • Todd Solondz (Life During Wartime)

BEST FIRST FEATURE (Award given to the director and producer)

  • Everything Strange and New (dir. Frazer Bradshaw)
  • Get Low (dir. Aaron Schneider) – WINNER
  • Night Catches Us (dir. Tanya Hamilton)
  • The Last Exorcism (dir. Daniel Stamm)
  • Tiny Furniture (dir. Lena Dunham)


  • Diane Bell (Obselidia)
  • Lena Dunham (Tiny Furniture) – WINNER
  • Nik Fackler (Lovely, Still)
  • Bob Glaudini (Jack Goes Boating)
  • Dana Adam Shapiro, Evan M. Wiener (Monogamy)

JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD – Given to the best feature made for under $500,000. Award given to the writer, director, and producer. Executive Producers are not listed

  • Daddy Longlegs – WINNER
  • Lbs.
  • Lovers of Hate
  • Obselidia
  • The Exploding Girl


  • Annette Bening (The Kids Are All Right)
  • Greta Gerwig (Greenberg)
  • Nicole Kidman (Rabbit Hole)
  • Jennifer Lawrence (Winter’s Bone)
  • Natalie Portman (Black Swan) – WINNER
  • Michelle Williams (Blue Valentine)


  • Ronald Bronstein (Daddy Longlegs)
  • Aaron Eckhart (Rabbit Hole)
  • James Franco (127 Hours) – WINNER
  • John C. Reilly (Cyrus)
  • Ben Stiller (Greenberg)


  • Ashley Bell (The Last Exorcism)
  • Dale Dickey (Winter’s Bone) WINNER
  • Allison Janney (Life During Wartime)
  • Daphne Rubin-Vega (Jack Goes Boating)
  • Naomi Watts (Mother and Child)


  • John Hawkes (Winter’s Bone) – WINNER
  • Samuel L. Jackson (Mother and Child)
  • Bill Murray (Get Low)
  • John Ortiz (Jack Goes Boating)
  • Mark Ruffalo (The Kids Are All Right)


  • Adam Kimmel (Never Let Me Go)
  • Matthew Libatique (Black Swan) – WINNER
  • Jody Lee Lipes (Tiny Furniture)
  • Michael McDonough (Winter’s Bone)
  • Harris Savides (Greenberg)

BEST DOCUMENTARY (Award given to the director)

  • Exit Through the Gift Shop – WINNER
  • Marwencol
  • Restrepo
  • Sweetgrass
  • Thunder Soul

BEST FOREIGN FILM (Award given to the director)

  • Kisses
  • Mademoiselle Chambon
  • Of Gods and Men
  • The King’s Speech -WINNER
  • Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives

ACURA SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD — The 17th annual Acura Someone to Watch Award recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Acura.

  • Hossein Keshavarzs (Dog Sweat)
  • Laurel Nakadates (The Wolf Knife)
  • Mike Otts (Littlerock) – WINNER

PIAGET PRODUCERS AWARD — The 14th annual Piaget Producers Award honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources demonstrate the creativity, tenacity, and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.

  • In-Ah Lee (Au Revoir Taipei)
  • Adele Romanski (The Myth of the American Sleepover)
  • Anish Savjani (Meek’s Cutoff) – WINNER

AVEENO TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD — The 16th annual AVEENO Truer Than Fiction Award is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by AVEENO.

  • Ilisa Barbash, Lucien Castaing-Taylor (Sweetgrass)
  • Jeff Malmberg (Marwencol) – WINNER
  • Lynn True, Nelson Walker (Summer Pasture)

ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD – (Given to one film’s director, casting director, and its ensemble cast)

  • Please Give - Director: Nicole Holofcener
Casting Director: Jeanne McCarthy
Ensemble Cast: Ann Guilbert, Rebecca Hall, Catherine Keener, Amanda Peet, Oliver Platt, Lois Smith, Sarah Steele – WINNER

What do you think of this year’s winners?