The King’s Speech dominated the 13th Annual British Independent Film Awards Sunday night winning in six major categories. Colin Firth, Geoffrey Rush and Helena Bonham Carter won for their acting roles. David Seidler won for writing the Best Screenplay, and the movie itself won Best British Independent Film. Ms. Carter was also honored with a lifetime achievement award. Check out the night’s other big winners…

Carey Mulligan won again this year for her performance in Never Let Me Go (also starring Keira Knightly and Andrew Garfield). Last year she took home the award for her performance in An Education, very impressive. Gareth Edwards was named Best Director for Monsters. The part road-trip, part alien-adventure (and romantic) film was Edward’s directorial debut.

Here’s the complete list of winners and nominees:

Best British Independent Film: The King’s Speech
Four Lions
Never Let Me Go

Best Director: Gareth Edwards – Monsters
Mike Leigh – Another Year
Matthew Vaughn – Kick-Ass
Tom Hooper – The King’s Speech
Mark Romanek – Never Let Me Go

The Douglas Hickox Award for Best Debut Director: Clio Barnard – The Arbor
Debs Gardner Paterson – Africa United
Rowan Joffe – Brighton Rock
Chris Morris – Four Lions
Gareth Edwards – Monsters

Best Screenplay: David Seidler – The King’s Speech
Jesse Armstrong, Sam Bain, Simon Blackwell, Christopher Morris – Four Lions
Jane Goldman & Matthew Vaughn – Kick-Ass
William Ivory – Made In Dagenham
Alex Garland – Never Let Me Go

Best Actress: Carey Mulligan – Never Let Me Go

Manjinder Virk – The Arbor
Ruth Sheen – Another Year
Andrea Riseborough – Brighton Rock
Sally Hawkins – Made In Dagenham

Best Actor: Colin Firth – The King’s Speech
Jim Broadbent – Another Year
Riz Ahmed – Four Lions
Scoot McNairy – Monsters
Aidan Gillen – Treacle Jr

Best Supporting Actress: Helena Bonham Carter – The King’s Speech
Lesley Manville – Another Year
Rosamund Pike – Made In Dagenham
Keira Knightley – Never Let Me Go
Tamsin Greig – Tamara Drewe

Best Supporting Actor: Geoffrey Rush – The King’s Speech
Kayvan Novak – Four Lions
Guy Pearce – The King’s Speech
Bob Hoskins – Made In Dagenham
Andrew Garfield – Never Let Me Go

Most Promising Newcomer: Joanne Froggatt – In Our Name
Manjinder Virk The Arbor
Andrea Riseborough Brighton Rock
Tom Hughes Cemetery Junction
Conor McCarron – Neds

Best Achievement in Production: Monsters
The Arbor
In Our Name
Streetdance 3D

Raindance Award: Son Of Babylon
Brilliant Love
Jackboots On Whitehall
Treacle Jr

Best Technical Achievement: Monsters – Visual Effects – Gareth Edwards
The Arbor – Sound – Tim Barker
Brighton Rock – Cinematography – John Mathieson
The Illusionist – Animation – Sylvain Chomet
The King’s Speech – Production Design – Eve Stewart

Best Documentary: Enemies of the People
The Arbor
Exit Through the Gift Shop
Fire In Babylon
Waste Land

Best Foreign Film: A Prophet
I Am Love
The Secret In Their Eyes
Winter’s Bone

What do you think of this year’s big winners?