Earlier today we brought you the 2011 Independent Spirit Award nominees and now we have news about another indie ceremony. The winners of this year’s Gotham Independent Film Awards have been announced and there are a lot of familiar names and films that took home honors at the event. Winter’s Bone, Waiting for Superman, The Oath, check, check, and check!

And the rest of the winners are…

Via the Press Release:

The 20th Anniversary Gotham Independent Film Award™ Recipients:

Best Feature presented by actors Steve Buscemi and Melissa Leo.

Directed by Debra Granik; Produced by Anne Rosellini and Alix Madigan-Yorkin
Released by Roadside Attractions
The Best Feature Jury included: actors Ethan Hawke and Parker Posey; producer Christine Vachon; director Melvin Van Peebles and editor Tricia Cooke.

Best Documentary presented by actor Sam Rockwell and documentarian Barbara Kopple


Directed and produced by Laura Poitras
Released by Zeitgeist Films and American Documentary/POV
The Best Documentary Jury included: actor Alec Baldwin; composer Terence Blanchard; documentarians Barbara Kopple and Robert Kenner and editor Mary Lampson

Breakthrough Director Award presented by Julianna Margulies and Paul Rudd

Writer and director, HOLY ROLLERS

Released by First Independent Pictures
The Breakthrough Director Jury included: actor Zooey Deschanel; cinematographer Maryse Alberti; composer Carter Burwell; producer Frida Torresblanco.

Breakthrough Actor Award presented by actors Michelle Williams and Jesse Eisenberg


Released by IFC Films
The Breakthrough Actor Jury included: actor Josh Brolin; filmmakers David Gordon Green and Peter Sollett; actress Amber Tamblyn; and producer Monty Ross.

Best Ensemble Performance Award presented by actors Ethan Hawke and Ethan Coen.

Jennifer Lawrence, John Hawkes, Dale Dickey, Lauren Sweetser, Garret Dillahunt, Devin Breznahan

Released by Roadside Attractions
The Best Ensemble Performance Jury included: actors Anthony Mackie and Lili Taylor; producer Lisa Cortes; writer Larry Gross; and filmmaker Miguel Arteta.

Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You Award presented by actor Rosie Perez and RBC CEO, Mark Standish


Mike Ott, director; Frederick Thornton, Laura Ragsdale, Sierra Leoni, producers
The recipient of The Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You™ award was determined by the editors of Filmmaker magazine, a publication of IFP, and a curator from The Museum of Modern Art.

The Festival Genius Audience Award presented by actors Anthony Mackie and Leighton Meester

Davis Guggenheim, director; Leslie Chilcott and Michael Brietal, producers

The Festival Genius Audience Award was voted on line by filmgoers who love movies.

What do you think of this year’s winners?