The Independent Filmmaker Project the nation’s oldest (though not that old) and largest organization of independent filmmakers has just announced the nominees for the 20th Anniversary Gotham Independent Film Awards. There is quite a wide variety of Independent films that have been nominated, some are on their way to winning Oscarss, some never even hit theaters. Some were amazing, others were quite bad. At least they have a wide variety in the 26 films that were nominated across six competitive categories for Best Feature, Best Documentary, Breakthrough Director, Breakthrough Actor, Best Ensemble Performance and (my personal favorite) Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You.

And the nominees are…

Best Feature

  • Black Swan: Darren Aronofsky, director; Mike Medavoy, Arnold W. Messer, Brian Oliver, Scott Franklin, producers (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
  • Blue Valentine: Derek Cianfrance, director; Jamie Patricof, Lynette Howell, Alex Orlovsky, producers (The Weinstein Company)
  • The Kids Are All Right: Lisa Cholodenko, director; Gary Gilbert, Jeffrey Levy-Hinte, Celine Rattray, Jordan Horowitz, Daniela Taplin Lundberg, Philippe Hellmann, producers (Focus Features)
  • Let Me In: Matt Reeves, director; Simon Oakes, Alex Brunner, Guy East, Tobin Armbrust, Donna Gigliotti, John Nording, Carl Molinder, producers (Overture Films)
  • Winter’s Bone: Debra Granik, director; Anne Rosellini, Alix Madigan-Yorkin, producers (Roadside Attractions)

Best Documentary

  • 12th & Delaware: Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady, directors/producers (HBO Documentary Films)
  • Inside Job: Charles Ferguson, director; Charles Ferguson, Audrey Marrs, producers (Sony Pictures Classics)
  • The Oath: Laura Poitras, director/producer (Zeitgeist Films and American Documentary/POV)
  • Public Speaking: Martin Scorsese, director; Martin Scorsese, Graydon Carter, Margaret Bodde, Fran Lebowitz, producers (HBO Documentary Films)
  • Sweetgrass: Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Ilisa Barbash, directors; Ilisa Barbash, producer (Cinema Guild)

Best Ensemble Performance

  • The Kids Are All Right: Annette Bening, Julianne Moore, Mark Ruffalo, Mia Wasikowska, Josh Hutcherson (Focus Features)
  • Life During Wartime: Shirley Henderson, Ciarán Hinds, Allison Janney, Michael Lerner, Chris Marquette, Rich Pecci, Charlotte Rampling, Paul Reubens, Ally Sheedy, Dylan Riley Snyder, Renée Taylor, Michael Kenneth Williams (IFC Films)
  • Please Give: Catherine Keener, Amanda Peet, Oliver Platt, Rebecca Hall, Ann Guilbert, Lois Smith, Sarah Steele, Thomas Ian Nicholas (Sony Pictures Classics)
  • Tiny Furniture: Lena Dunham, Laurie Simmons, Grace Dunham, Rachel Howe, Merritt Wever, Amy Seimetz, Alex Karpovsky, David Call, Jemima Kirke, Sarah Sophie Flicker, Garland Hunter, Isen Hunter (IFC Films)
  • Winter’s Bone: Jennifer Lawrence, John Hawkes, Dale Dickey, Lauren Sweetser, Garret Dillahunt, Kevin Breznahan (Roadside Attractions)

Breakthrough Director

  • John Wells for The Company Men (The Weinstein Company)
  • Kevin Asch for Holy Rollers (First Independent Pictures)
  • Glenn Ficarra and John Requa for I Love You Phillip Morris (Roadside Attractions)
  • Tanya Hamilton for Night Catches Us (Magnolia Pictures)
  • Lena Dunham for Tiny Furniture (IFC Films)

Breakthrough Actor

  • Prince Adu in Prince of Broadway (Elephant Eye Films)
  • Ronald Bronstein in Daddy Longlegs (IFC Films)
  • Greta Gerwig in Greenberg (Focus Features)
  • Jennifer Lawrence in Winter’s Bone (Roadside Attractions)
  • John Ortiz in Jack Goes Boating (Overture Films)

Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You

  • Kati with an i: Robert Greene, director; Douglas Tirola, Susan Bedusa, producers
  • Littlerock: Mike Ott, director; Frederick Thornton, Laura Ragsdale, Sierra Leoni, producers
  • On Coal River: Francine Cavanaugh and Adams Wood, directors; Jillian Elizabeth, Adams Wood, Francine Cavanaugh, producers
  • Summer Pasture: Lynn True and Nelson Walker, directors/producers; Tsering Perlo, co-director/co-producer
  • The Wolf Knife: Laurel Nakadate, director/producer

Selecting this year’s nominees were 20 film critics, journalists, and curators. Check out the nomnee comitees below…

Nominating Committee for Best Feature and Breakthrough Director:

  • Thelma Adams, Film Critic, US Weekly
  • Andrew O’Hehir, Film Critic,
  • Joshua Rothkopf, Senior Film Writer, DVD Editor, Time Out New York
  • Lisa Schwarzbaum, Film Critic, Entertainment Weekly

Nominating Committee for Ensemble Performance and Breakthrough Actor:

  • Dave Karger, Senior Writer, Entertainment Weekly
  • Karen Durbin, Film Critic, Elle Magazine
  • Sam Adams, Film Critic, Philadelphia City Paper
  • Karina Longworth, Film Critic, LA Weekly
  • Rajendra Roy, The Celeste Bartos Chief Curator of Film, Museum of Modern Art

Nominating Committee for Best Documentary:

  • Cynthia Fuchs, Film-TV Editor, PopMatters
  • Sean Farnel, Director of Programming, Hot Docs Canadian International Documentary Film Festival
  • Mike Maggiore, Programmer and Publicist, Film Forum
  • Ronnie Scheib, Film Critic, Variety

Nominating Committee for Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You:

  • Joshua Siegel, Associate Curator, Department of Film and Media, Museum of Modern Art; and members of the editorial staff and contributors to Filmmaker Magazine: Scott Macaulay (Editor-in-Chief), Livia Bloom, Jason Guerrasio, Brandon Harris, Ray Pride, Alicia Van Couvering

Who do you hope will win?