The Academy strikes again! According to Anne Thompson, three legendary contributors to the film industry will be honored later this year including Francis Ford Coppola (well-deserved), Eli Wallach (he’s still alive and kicking!), and Jean-Luc Godard (what the hell took so long?!). Check out the details…

On Tuesday night, the Motion Picture Academy board took a vote on who they thought deserved to be honored for their impact on film and they came up with this iron clad trio. The Irving G. Thalberg award will go to Coppola who’s directed and produced some of the most acclaimed movies of our time including The Godfather Trilogy, Apocalypse Now, and The Conversation.

Jean Luc-Goddard is a “French critic-turned-director and grand semiotician” who helmed Breathless and Contempt, while Wallach has appeared alongside Clint Eastwood in The Man With No Name Trilogy, Steve McQueen and Yul Brenner in The Magnificent Seven, and Clark Gable and Marilyn Monroe in The Misfits. He’s 94 years old and still steadily working, he’s even got a part in Oliver Stone’s new film, Wall Street : Money Never Sleeps.

The Honorary Award, an Oscar® statuette, is given to an individual for “extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy.”

The Thalberg Award, a bust of the motion picture executive, is given to “a creative producer whose body of work reflects a consistently high quality of motion picture production.”

The awards dinner will take place on November 13th at the Kodak Theatre.

What do you think of this year’s honorees?