The 2010 LA Film Festiva is over, the awards have been given out and Downtown LA will once again be the dirty area of the city it once was. Below we list all the main awards, the first of which are the most important (I think) the Audience Awards. Everyone attending the film is handed a piece of paper and able to rate the films 1-4 (one being the lowest and then the highest) while walking out of the theaters. Then we have the big money winners and other jury picks.

Check the out now…

Below are all the Audiences Awards:

  • Best Narrative Feature went to Four Lions directed by Christopher Morris
  • Best Documentary Feature went to Thunder Soul, directed by Mark Landsman
  • Best International Feature went to Roberto Hernández and Geoffrey Smith’s Presumed Guilty
  • Best Short Film went to Dock Ellis & the LSD No-No, directed by James Blagden
  • Best Music Video went to OK Go’s This Too Shall Pass, directed by James Frost, OK Go, and Syyn Labs

Now lets take a look at the big money winners…

The two top juried awards of the Los Angeles Film Festival are the Narrative Award and Documentary Award, each carrying an unrestricted $50,000 cash prize, funded by Film Independent, for the winning film’s director. The awards were established by the Festival encourage independent filmmakers to pursue their artistic ambitions.

The Narrative Award recognizes the finest narrative film in competition at the Festival and went to Pernille Fischer Christensen for A Family (En Familie). The Documentary Award recognizes the finest documentary film in competition at the Festival and went to J. Clay Tweel for Make Believe.

The award for Best Ensemble Performance in the Narrative Competition went to Sabrina Lloyd, James Urbaniak, Lynn Cohen, Harry Chase, Nate Smith and Kamel Boutros for their performance in Adam Reid’s Hello Lonesome. Given to an actor or actors from an official selection in the Narrative Competition, this is the seventh year the award has been given at the Festival.

Other winners:

The award for Best Narrative Short Film went to Pablo Larcuen’s My Invisible Friend. The award for Best Documentary Short Film went to Tomasz Wolski’s The Lucky One. Beomsik Shimbe Shim’s Wonder Hospital won the award for Best Animated Short Film.