The frontrunners for tonight’s Academy Awards are pretty much set in stone, but at Friday night’s Independent Spirit Awards, Lee Daniels’ Precious led the way. As the last major ceremony to take place before the Oscars, indie folks honored Precious with five trophies causing the film to sweep every major category for which it was nominated.

Gabourey Sidibe went home with Best Lead Actress, Mo’Nique for Best Supporting Actress, Daniels for Best Director, Geoffrey Fletcher for Best First Screenplay, and it won the top prize as Best Feature. See who else walked away with an award by viewing the complete winners list…

Jeff Bridges (Crazy Heart) took home the award for Best Lead Actor, while Woody Harrelson earned Best Supporting Actor for his role in The Messenger. Even though Precious dominated the majority of the categories, I was happy to see that Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber won Best Screenplay for their film, 500 Days of Summer. Unfortunately, the unromantic comedy got the shaft in the nomination department from the Oscars, so it’s good to see some recognition get thrown their way.

Below we’ve posted the entire list of winners from the 2010 Independent Spirit Awards. See who won what…

  • Best Feature: Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire
  • Best Director: Lee Daniels, Precious
  • Best Male Lead: Jeff Bridges, Crazy Heart
  • Best Female Lead: Gabourey Sidibe, Precious
  • Best Supporting Male: Woody Harrelson, The Messenger
  • Best Supporting Female: Mo’Nique, Precious
  • Best First Feature: Crazy Heart
  • Best Screenplay: Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber, (500) Days of Summer
  • Best First Screenplay: Geoffrey Fletcher, Precious
  • Best Cinematography: A Serious Man
  • Robert Altman Award: A Serious Man
  • Best Documentary: Anvil! The Story of Anvil
  • Best Foreign Film: An Education
  • John Cassavetes Award (best feature made for under $500,000): Humpday
  • Acura Someone to Watch Award: Kyle Patrick Alvarez, Easier With Practice

On a side note, Roger and Chaz Ebert were honored with a film category named after them called, the Chaz & Roger Ebert Truer Than Fiction Award, thanks to a gift from the Eberts’ family foundation. The prize, which includes a $25,000 grant, was presented to Bill Ross and Turner Ross for their doc about daily life in an American town, 45365.

What do you think of this year’s Spirit Award winners? Were you surprised by the Precious sweep?

Source: THR