palm springs festival

The Palm Springs Film Festival will be one of the many award ceremonies to kick off the new year and they’ve already unveiled two of their biggest winners. According to a recent press release, Academy Award winning actress Marion Cotillard and writer-director Quentin Tarantino will be honored at next year’s gala.

Cotillard will receive the Desert Palm Achievement Actress Award for her distinguished French career as well as her performance in Rob Marshall‘s musical, Nine. She’s already received accolades from other film boards including the Hollywood Foreign Press who gave her a best supporting actress nod for her work in the film. Past recipients of the Desert Palm Achievement Actress Award include Anne Hathaway, Halle Berry, Charlize Theron, Naomi Watts and Kate Winslet.

Tarantino will be honored with the Sonny Bono Visionary Award due to his eccentric career and latest film Inglorious Basterds.

Festival chairman Harold Matzner commented, “Quentin Tarantino is one of the most gifted, iconoclastic filmmakers of his generation, and with Inglourious Basterds, he’s created a hugely entertaining, revisionist take on history as it might have been.  For this achievement, along with his ongoing contributions to contemporary cinema, we’re delighted to be honoring him with the Festival’s Sonny Bono Visionary Award.”

Past recipients of the Sonny Bono Visionary Award include Todd Field, Baz Luhrmann, M. Night Shyamalan, Gus Van Sant and Joe Wright. The Palm Springs Award Gala will take place on January 5th and will be hosted by “Entertainment Tonight’s” Mary Hart. The Awards Gala will honor previously announced honorees Jeff Bridges, T Bone Burnett, Mariah Carey, Morgan Freeman, Anna Kendrick, Helen Mirren, Jason Reitman and Jeremy Renner. The Festival runs January 5-18, 2010.

What do you think of the line-up for next year’s Palm Springs Gala?