The Hurt Locker Las Vegas Film Critics

Just when you thought the critic awards were over, more winners begin to come out of the woodwork. The Las Vegas Film Critics Society has decided to list their top films and performances of 2009, including Best Picture. Once again The Hurt Locker earned the top prize, leaving the rest of its competition in the dust. Kathryn Bigelow also received another Best Director trophy, which she can add to her growing mantle.

The rest of the winners featured many of the usual suspects that we’ve seen this year including Gabourey Sidibe and Mo’Nique for Precious and Christoph Waltz for Inglourious Basterds. With so many appearances on nomination and winner’s lists, is there any doubt who’ll receive an Oscar this year? See how the Las Vegas winners stack up in comparison to the other critic awards…

Las Vegas Film Critics Society 2009 Sierra Awards winners

  • Best Picture: The Hurt Locker
  • Best Actor: Jeremy Renner, The Hurt Locker
  • Best Actress: Gabourey Sidibe, Precious
  • Best Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz, Inglourious Basterds
  • Best Supporting Actress: Monique, Precious
  • Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow, The Hurt Locker
  • Best Screenplay (Original or Adapted): Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber, 500 Days of Summer

All of the winners listed in the top seven have dominated the majority of the film awards this year. The only winner who seems to fade in and out is Jeremy Renner, but hopefully that won’t be the case for the Academy Awards early next year. The nominations are announced in February, and his name better be on that ballot as well as the duo from 500 Days of Summer, I haven’t heard one bad thing about that screenplay.

  • Best Cinematography: Andrew Lesnie, The Lovely Bones
  • Best Film Editing: Bob Murawski, The Hurt Locker
  • Best Costume Design: Anna B. Sheppard, Inglourious Basterds
  • Best Art Direction: Avatar
  • Best Visual Effects: Star Trek
  • Best Documentary: Anvil: The Story of Anvil
  • Best Foreign Film: Red Cliff (China)
  • Best Song: “The Weary Kind” (Theme from Crazy Heart)
  • Music and Lyrics by Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett
  • Best Score: Brian Eno, The Lovely Bones
  • Best Family Film: Fantastic Mr. Fox
  • Best Animated Film: Fantastic Mr. Fox
  • Youth in Film: Saoirse Ronan, The Lovely Bones
  • Best DVD (Packaging, design and content): The Wizard of Oz (70th Anniversary Ultimate Edition)
  • The William Holden Lifetime Achievement Award: Roger Deakins

What is your favorite Las Vegas Critics pick? Are any of their winners surprising?