Let the award season begin! The 13th annual Hollywood Film Festival and Hollywood awards have announced that Director Kathryn Bigelow will be honored with the “Hollywood Director Award”, Screenwriter Nora Ephron will be presented with the “Hollywood Screenwriter Award”, Disney/Pixar’s UP will get the “Hollywood Animation Award” and Scott Farrar, visual effects supervisor for Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen will receive the “Hollywood Visual Effects Award” at the festivals Hollywood Awards Gala Ceremony.

The ceremony will take place at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills on October 26, 2009.

The Announcement was made by Carlos de Abreu, Founder and Executive Director of the Hollywood Film Festival. “It is a great pleasure to recognize the extraordinary talent of Kathryn Bigelow, Nora Ephron, Peter Docter and Scott Farrar,” said Mr. de Abreu, “and to honor their achievements and contributions to filmmaking.”

Kathryn Bigelow recently directed The Hurt Locker, a film that received great acclaim. Bigelow’s remarkable work has alternated between edgy and art-house fare (The Loveless, Near Dark, The Weight of Water) and Hollywood products (Point Break, Strange Days, K-19: The Widowmaker) throughout a highly regarded career spanning more than 25 years.

Nora Ephron is an academy award nominated screen writer, her credits include films Heartburn, Silkwood, When Harry Met Sally, Sleepless in Seattle, You’ve Got Mail and Bewitched.

Peter Docter is the director and writer of The Walt Disney Studios’/Pixar Animation Studios’ animated feature UP. Docter made his debut as a director on Monsters, Inc. for which he received an Academy Award nomination. He earned another for his original story credit on the Oscar-winning WALL-E.

Scott Farrar has been a part of the special effects super champs, Industrial Light & Magic since 1981 as a camera operator on Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan and was promoted to visual effects supervisor on Who Framed Roger Rabbit. In 1985, he received an Academy Award for Best Visual Effects for his work on Cocoon. Since then he has received Oscar nominations for The Chronicles of Narnia, Backdraft, A.I.: Artificial Intelligence and Transformers.