comic-con logo

As Comic-Con weekend comes to a close, I am here at the Comic-Con International Independent Film Festival Awards. This ceremony awards the best filmmakers who have submitted projects to this year’s annual festival. Let’s get to it shall we…

12:02: Here’s the big one!! It’s the Hidden Life of the Burrowing Owl has just won the Judges Choice Award! Too bad the director still isn’t here.

11:56: Anna Made an American won in the category of Best in Humor

11:59: Best in Science Fiction Fantasy goes to Hirsute! The director is very humble and sweet. It’s nice to see artists like that.

11:50: Best in Horror and Suspense goes to Alice Jacobs is Dead. The writer/director just accepted the award, and he’s the only winner who actually dressed up.

comic-con winner 2

11:48: The Best Documentary award goes to Dig Comics, and the filmmakers just announced Edward James Olmos will produce the feature length version of this short film!

Comic-con winner

11:45: The Best Comic Oriented Film goes to The Book of Tomorrow, and the director is here! We got one!

11:43: Best in Animation goes to The Hidden Life of the Burrowing Owl. Too bad the filmmaker isn’t here to accept it.

11:41: Here comes the awards. The first category is Best Action Adventure and it goes to Al’s Beef.

11:35: The judges are discussing what they liked and didn’t like about the films this year. One of the judges is the editor of Entertainment Weekly! I love that magazine.

Comic-Con 2009 Film Jury

11:33: They just revealed that 5 years ago Shane Acker won the Judges Choice and Animation Award for 9 at this film festival. So you never know what will become big feature films in the future!

11:29:The winners get a trophy, and the latest screenwriting software. It’s like a movie geeks dream!

11:27: They’re going over the history of the film festival and how it started at Comic-Con.

Comic-Con 2099 CII Awards

11:24: Gary Sasman director of print publication at Comic-Con International is introducing the judges on for this years event.